Impress Prize for New Writers 2017 Winner

The winner of the Impress Prize for New Writers of 2017 has been announced and we at Razz want to congratulate Roberta H. George for her winning novel The Day’s Heat!

“Set in the early sixties against the backdrop of impending national integration, the novel follows Lea James, a dark-skinned, Catholic, Lebanese girl who comes to a small south Georgia town and confronts the prejudices of her husband’s family and the community toward her nationality and religion.”

Decided by a panel of judges including Annabel Abbs, author of The Joyce Girl, a previous Impress Prize winner, Mel Mitchell, editor at Nudge Book magazine, and Impress Books Commissioning Editor, Laura Christopher, the winner was announced on Thursday. The initial listing of entrees was also read and annotated by a group of interns, some students of The University of Exeter.

The Impress Prize for New Writers 2018 will open in Spring next year. Follow our blog for upcoming reviews of previous winners of the prize and information on how to enter.

Prize panel 2017.jpg

Impress Prize Panel courtesy of Impress Books.

Emily Stephenson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s